↑ Return to Home

Print this Page

Church History

St. Mary and St. Moses Coptic Orthodox Church (Formerly Sacred Heart R C Church) was founded in 1924 by Bishop Michael Fallon to respond to the rising demand in what had become a booming community in Walkerville. Rev. Denis Brison oversaw the construction of both the temporary wooden church on the site. The present structure was built in 1927 at a cost of $185,000.

In recent years, the Roman Catholic Church has been consolidating parishes in Windsor’s core and in 2002 the building was sold to the Coptic Community of Windsor who renamed the church “St. Mary and St. Moses” church. A $150,000 project to convert the sanctuary to the Orthodox style was recently completed by Coptic artisans.

Architects John R. Boyde (of the renowned local firm J.C. Pennington) Leighton, designed this Neo-Gothic style church and adjacent rectory. It boasts richly ornamented brick and stonework and a magnificent arched entranceway topped by a rosette window. The entrance is flanked with twin steeples with domes. Complete architectural drawings are on file the Municipal Archives.

[epa-album id=”190″ show_title=”true” display=”excerpt”]